tr>

Drug Crimes in Rhode Island

Marijuana Possession Penalties in Rhode Island

Because medical marijuana is legal in Rhode Island, not everyone found possessing marijuana will be charged criminally. However, individuals found in possession of marijuana without a medical clearance may be penalized based on their location, the amount possessed, and their intent.

Read about out recent Rhode Island Drug crimes victories.

  • POSSESSION OF LESS THAN 1 KILOGRAM
  1. MISDEMEANOR
  2. PRISON: Up to 1 year
  3. FINE: $200 - $500
  4. If probation sentence imposed with no prison
    • drug abuse evaluation requirement
    • attend a drug education course
    • up to 100 hours of community servic
  • POSSESSION 1 TO 5 KILOGRAMS
  1. FELONY
  2. PRISON: mandatory minimum sentence of 10 years with a maximum of 50 years
  3. FINE: $10,000 - $500,000
  • POSSESSION OF MORE THAN 5 KILOGRAMS
  1. FELONY
  2. PRISON: mandatory minimum sentence of 25 years in prison with a maximum of life
  3. FINE: $25,000 - $100,000

Sale or Cultivation of Marijuana Penalties in Rhode Island

  • LESS THAN 1 KILOGRAM
  1. FELONY
  2. PRISON:  30 years in prison
  3. FINE:  $3,000 - $100,000
  • 1 TO 5 KILOGRAMS
  1. FELONY
  2. PRISON: mandatory minimum sentence of 10 years with a maximum of 50 years
  3. FINE: $10,000 - $500,000
  • 5 OR MORE KILOGRAMS
  1. FELONY
  2. PRISON: mandatory minimum sentence of 25 YEARS with a maximum of life
  3. FINE: $25,000 - $100,000

Cocaine Crimes in Rhode Island

Conviction of a cocaine crime in Rhode Island carries with it some of the most severe penalties the state has to offer because Rhode Island takes possession and sale of drugs seriously.

Moreover, the penalties are geared toward different variables, some of which are spelled out below with the most significant difference being the difference between possession and possession with intent. The intent portion of the charge carries with it the additional burden that the state must prove beyond a reasonable doubt the offender actually intended to sell the controlled substance.

One needs competent legal advice, especially when charged with intent to deliver drug crime.

Cocaine Possession Penalties in Rhode Island

  • UP TO 1 OUNCE
  1. FELONY
  2. PRISON: 3 years and/or
  3. FINE: $500 to $5000
  4. Community service
  5. Drug program
  • 1 OUNCE TO 1 KILOGRAM
  1. FELONY
  2. PRISON: 10-50 years and/oR
  3. FINE: $10,000-$50,000
  • MORE THAN 1 KILOGRAM
  1. FELONY
  2. PRISON:  20 yearsto life and
  3. FINE:  $25,000 to $1,000,000

Cocaine Possession with Intent to Deliver Penalties
in Rhode Island

  • NON DRUG DEPENDENT PERSON (AS DEFINED BY LAW)
  1. PRISON: life and/or
  2. FINE: $10,000 to $500,000
  • DRUG DEPENDENT PERSON (AS DEFINED BY LAW)
  1. PRISON: 30 YEARS AND/OR
  2. FINE: $3000 TO $100,000
  • SALE OF 1 KG
  1. PRISON: 10-50 years and/or
  2. FINE:  $10,000 to $500,000
  • SALE OF OVER 1 KG
  1. PRISON: 20 years to life and/or
  2. FINE: $25,000-$1,000,000

 


Licensed to practice law in the states of Rhode Island, New York and The United States District Court for the District of Rhode Island

Facebook    LinkedIn   Twitter

Contact Us





Refresh image.


Helpful Links

United States Constitution

Rhode Island Constitution

Rhode Island General Laws

Rhode Island Department of
Business Regulation




credit cards462 Broadway, Providence,Rhode Island 02909    
©James E. Smith. All rights reserved.   |    Site Map    |   Email: James Smith  |   Phone: (401) 649-0335

RI Criminal Defense Lawyer