tr>

RI DUI Lawyer

James E. Smith, RI DUI Lawyer, is ready to handle your case today.

DUI/Refusal in Rhode Island very well could be the most complicated system of laws in the state. Clients deserve an attorney capable of securing their rights when such charges are brought before the court.

Above all, it is most important to know that one should not plead guilty to a DUI or breathalyzer refusal charge without the benefit of first hearing competent legal advice from an attorney. DUI convictions lead to more than just a mere inconvenience for the client/motorist; they carry potentially serious consequences because a DUI conviction and certain breathalyzer refusal convictions result in a criminal record for the motorist

 

Read about his recent RI DUI Lawyer victories here.

DUI Penalties in Rhode Island

FIRST OFFENSE DUI PENALTIES: .08 BUT LESS THAN .10
FINE: $100 - $300
HIGHWAY ASSESSMENT - $500
COMMUNITY SERVICE: 10 – 60 HOURS
PRISON: UP TO ONE YEAR
LICENSE LOSS: 30 – 180 DAYS
DUI SCHOOL

FIRST OFFENSE DUI PENALTIES: .1 BUT LESS THAN .15
FINE: $100 - $400
HIGHWAY ASSESSMENT - $500
COMMUNITY SERVICE: 10 – 60 HOURS
PRISON: UP TO ONE YEAR
LICENSE LOSS: 3 – 12 MONTHS
DUI SCHOOL

FIRST OFFENSE WITHIN FIVE YEARS: .15 OR ABOVE
FINE: $500
HIGHWAY ASSESSMENT - $500
COMMUNITY SERVICE: 20 – 60 HOURS
PRISON: UP TO ONE YEAR
LICENSE LOSS: 3 – 18 MONTHS
DUI SCHOOL

SECOND OFFENSE (WITHIN 5 YEARS) DUI PENALTIES: .08 BUT LESS THAN .15
FINE: $400
HIGHWAY ASSESSMENT - $500
PRISON: 10 DAYS TO ONE YEAR
LICENSE LOSS: 2 YEARS
DUI SCHOOL
2 YEAR PROHIBITION OF OPERATING A MOTOR VEHICLE THAT IS NOT EQUIPPED WITH AN IGNITION KEY LOCK DEVICE FOR A PERIOD OF TWO YEARS FOLLOWING THE COMPLETION OF SENTENCE.

SECOND OFFENSE (WITHIN 5 YEARS) DUI PENALTIES: .15 OR ABOVE
FINE: NOT LESS THAN $1000
HIGHWAY ASSESSMENT - $500
PRISON: 6 MONTHS TO ONE YEAR
LICENSE LOSS: 2 YEARS
DUI SCHOOL

THIRD OFFENSE (WITHIN 5 YEARS) DUI PENALTIES: .08 BUT LESS THAN .15
FELONY
FINE: $400
HIGHWAY ASSESSMENT - $500
PRISON: 1 - 3 YEARS
LICENSE LOSS: 2 TO 3 YEARS
DUI SCHOOL
2 YEAR PROHIBITION OF OPERATING A MOTOR VEHICLE THAT IS NOT EQUIPPED WITH AN IGNITION KEY LOCK DEVICE FOR A PERIOD OF TWO YEARS FOLLOWING THE COMPLETION OF SENTENCE.
POSSIBLE VEHICLE SEIZURE

THIRD OFFENSE (WITHIN 5 YEARS) DUI PENALTIES: .15 OR ABOVE
FELONY
FINE: $1000 - $5000
HIGHWAY ASSESSMENT - $500
PRISON: 3 – 5 YEARS
LICENSE LOSS: 3 YEARS FROM THE COMPLETION OF THE PRISON SENTENCE
POSSIBLE VEHICLE SEIZURE

BREATHALYZER REFUSAL Penalties in Rhode Island

FIRST OFFENSE
FINE: $200 - $500
HIGHWAY ASSESSMENT - $500
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH - $200
COMMUNITY SERVICE: 10 – 60 HOURS
LICENSE LOSS: 6 MONTHS – 1 YEAR
DUI SCHOOL

SECOND OFFENSE (WITHIN 5 YEARS)
CONVICTION RESULTS IN A MISDEMEANOR
FINE: $600 - $1000
HIGHWAY ASSESSMENT - $500
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH - $200
COMMUNITY SERVICE:  60 - 100 HOURS
PRISON: UP TO  6 MONTHS
LICENSE LOSS: 1 – 2 YEARS
DUI SCHOOL

THIRD OFFENSE (WITHIN 5 YEARS)     
CONVICTION RESULTS IN A MISDEMEANOR
FINE: $800 - $1000
HIGHWAY ASSESSMENT - $500
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH - $200
COMMUNITY SERVICE:  NOT LESS THAN 100 HOURS
PRISON: UP TO  1 YEAR
LICENSE LOSS: 2 – 5 YEARS AND A HEARING BEFORE A JUDGE TO DETERMINE REINSTATEMENT
DUI SCHOOL

Get the best RI DUI Lawyer available - contact us today!


 


Licensed to practice law in the states of Rhode Island, New York and The United States District Court for the District of Rhode Island

Facebook    LinkedIn   Twitter

Contact Us





Refresh image.


Helpful Links

United States Constitution

Rhode Island Constitution

Rhode Island General Laws

Rhode Island Department of
Business Regulation




RI DUI Lawyer Payment options462 Broadway, Providence,Rhode Island 02909    
©James E. Smith. All rights reserved.   |    Site Map    |   Email: James Smith  |   Phone: (401) 649-0335

RI Criminal Defense Lawyer ); } catch(err) {}